IELTS Task 2 : Problem and solution about homecoming in Eid al-Fitri celebration

Eid al-Fitr is the most popular celebration in muslim world, especially in Indonesia. In such a country, there is a culture, namely "mudik" or homecoming, returning to one's hometown. On the other hand, some problems appear simultaneously with this phenomena, such as people enforce themselves to homecoming instead the funds is not sufficient and dramatic increase of crime numbers. To tackle this dilemma, viable measures, like brainwashing people about the essential of such an event and increasing the society protection from crime in few days before Eid, should be attempted.

As homecoming is worthy culture of almost entire muslim in such a nation, Indonesian usually forced themselves to do such a habit, while not all people have enough money to undertake it. Such a condition gives significant encouragement to do crime. The level of crime increases dramatically in the last week of Ramadhan which it near from Eid al-Fitr. According to Pagaralam Pos, a popular local newspaper, there is a dramatic growth of crime in several days before Eid al-Firtri. Increasing transaction in banks and consuming in society causes malevolent people to show off. Besides that, several reports show that there is a terrible extortion that occurs between entrepreneur and hoodlum. In addition, homecoming also becomes an event to show people's wealth. Many people wear plentiful jewelry in their body. With that situation, it will stimulate themselves to show more glamour in the following years.

To solve those problems, some solutions have been gained. First and foremost, educating people about the essential of Eid al-Fitr celebration is one of the excellent long term measures. The main purposes of such a celebration are making better relationship among members of family. We should tell about showing the treasures while celebrate Eid al-Fitr is not good manner. Furthermore, increasing the security among few days before Eid al-fitr is a perfect way to answer the dramatic increase of crime. Such an idea will make people feel safer while doing their regularly activities.

To conclude, homecoming cannot be considered as separate event with Eid al-Fitr. While such event gives some problems, outstanding solutions should be concerned. It is suggested that government and other stakeholders should take this into account.