IELTS task 2: problems in big citties/ main problems and solutions

Life in a metropoly

People who live in large cities face a range of problems in their daily life

What are the main problems people in cities face, and how can these problems be tackled?

Citizens who live in big cities are facing a lot of troubles every day. This problem is caused by some factors, and it should be dealt with by some effective solutions.

There are some reasons why people now have to face serious risks when they live in a large city. Firstly, due to the atmosphere of big cities is so polluted. The number of emissions released from vehicles such as cars, light motorcycles may be inhaled by drivers who might face the danger of respiratory diseases when they are in traffic. Secondly, the high cost of living is a serious problem in big cities, especially capitals. Monthly rent prices in metropolises are much higher than in other cities. For example, my brother staying in the inner-city of Ha Noi has to pay a huge amount of money to rent an apartment that is mainly expensive than their counterparts in the Ha Noi'suburb.

Feasible solutions should be implemented to tackle these aforementioned problems. The first measure would be to develop new public transports that can minimize air pollution. Emissions from private cars are a major cause of air pollution as they contain a relatively high proportion of pollutants. If citizens get used to public service vehicles, it will reduce exhaust fumes from the private automobiles. Additionally, there are a lot of houses which can help renters split the costs of accommodations. Homestay is a great example where everyone shares electric bills, rent.

In conclusion, there are some reasons why living in big cities faces many issues, and some measures could be taken to solve this problem.