IELTS: TASK 2: Problems caused by Internet and its solutions.

The widespread use of the Internet has brought many problems. What do you think the main problems associated with the use of the web? What solutions can you suggest?

The use of Internet is become an imperative part of our life since it is acknowledged a bigger source of information. However, some troublesome issues have come into focus regarding its widespread use. I shall explain main problems related to the use of web and effective measures in following paragraphs.

To begin with, I must say, Internet is the biggest treasure of information; however, its excessive use reduces thinking skills. For example, a student enters the topic of his project in Google and simply copies all the relevant material without any serious effort. This in turn prevents his developing the sense of responsibility. Apart from this, internet also provides wrong information sometimes because internet is an easy access to everyone. Therefore, anybody can spread anything without thinking of the outcomes. For instance, a big chaos has created regarding the video issued on YouTube, which was based on wrong ideas about the life of Prophet Muhammad (BPUH). This also led to misunderstandings between Muslims and people of other religions. Moreover, Internet viruses spread by hackers are also very common problem because they attack user's computer, destroy important data, and hack personal information.

However, if certain measures are taken while using Internet, these problems can be resolved. First, all the websites containing curricular materials should be age restricted so that students cannot cheat. In addition, parents should also keep a check on children about what they surf on Internet. Furthermore, strong anti-viral software can be put into effect to detect and stop the internet thefts to crash our computers.

In conclusion, I will say, Internet is a blessing, but its misuse is making it a huge trouble for all of us.