What are the problems with English Education in Korea?

Hello,everyone. I'm a new member of this website. And I'm here for help my first essay.

If there are any possible faults(grammer,expressions.. anything~!),please give me a tip.

Thank you,in advance.

Once again,I'm so glad to know this AWESOME web site! Hope you guys have a great day~!

<What are the problems with English Education in Korea? Discuss solutions to the problems with concrete examples.>

Let me tell you about one of my most embarrassing moments when I was on the military service. Throughout a middle school and high school educational courses, I had a good grade in English. Because not only interested in English, but good at memorizing English words and sentences. By the time I entered the mandatory Army service I fortunately had a chance to work with U. S. Army soldiers. Because of self-confidence about English, I thought that it won't be a problem with living with English speakers. But I was shocked and humiliated myself after talking with them. No matter how I tried to tell them in English, they just didn't understand what I said. After contemplating about my issues, finally I realized that I didn't take English as a language!

English is simply a language. This is exactly where English schooling problems in Korea begin. Most students who have had English classes and even collegians in Korea forget about taking English as a tongue. When studying English, they just want to gain a good score and take English as means to choose good college or to get a good career. As a result, these phenomena make most pupils and university students in Korea highly exam-conscious and most students tend to focus on reading and grammar. These biased study habits create many crucial difficulties when they speak and write in English. To solve linguistic obstacles, students in Korea must learn English as a language. Normally, if you want to learn new language, you have to concentrate on all aspects of its language which included grammar ,reading ,speaking ,listening and writing. Considering of speaking problems of Korean students, key to overcoming this might be trying to express your opinion directly and improve your speaking skills by listening very carefully what native speakers say. And whatever sound it is, you need to exactly repeat what you heard. Do not take seriously about each word, just keep sounds you just heard in mind. This will be very helpful ,specially when you pronounce prolonged sounds. This is how I've gotten better listening and speaking skills.

Unfortunately, there are other complicated problems with English education in Korea. I would say that these do not come from learners' fault, but some kind of reality that has social and educational system here in Korea. What I'm saying is that the Korean government changes English educational policies too often and lacks consistency. Every time policy turns to be different, bringing out wasted social expenses ,therefore, English teachers in school and parents of young learners got confused and squandered their efforts and money ,too. Furthermore, these policies create overheated English market. So people in private academy take advantage of making parent of learners invest money. But these parents and academies's efforts can make negative consequences such as learners' loss of interest. This is a huge problem which one person can not make it better, so almost every people who involved in educational system need to have harmonical understanding and then, we can enhance our English education system in a good way.

Like I said before, to fix our issues about English education, as long as we start to think English as a language and keep focusing on making our educational policies, I believe that learning English will be fun and interesting.