Problems of having domestic animals - IELTS task2

Some people believe that all children should have a pet or an animal to look after. Other people disagree, however, saying that this depends on a child's circumstances.

Consider these opposing views, and give your own opinion

Nowadays, it is a common opinion that domestic animals have many benefits for children. However, this is not a straightforward issue and there are many arguments against this idea. This essay will discuss both sides and give a conclusion.

On the one hand, looking after a pet has some advantages for children. As an example, children may receive emotional support from pets, meaning that they will feel more secure and confident. In addition, children who do not have any siblings usually suffer from being alone at home and this feeling will become more significant when parents are overloaded with their work. For these children, adding a four-legged member to the family can be a good choice to entertain them and fill their leisure time. Another positive aspect is that children will learn how to become responsible while they should take care of their pets, be aware of feeding them, and raising them. Consequently, this will prepare them for bigger responsibilities in the future.

Turning to the other side of the argument, taking care of pets will not be possible for all children because of various factors. Examples can be seen in families that are not able to afford the expense of maintaining a pet. You have to bear in mind that there are many financial requirements when it comes to owning a pet. Instead of expected costs, which include the cost of adoption, paperwork, and vaccination, you should prepare yourself for costs like food, grooming, medical expenses, and unpredicted illness and injuries. Likewise, some countries have laws that prohibit citizens from having tame animals. Further, it is not recommended for children with a special disease such as breathing difficulties or allergy to have a domestic animal.

It is logical to conclude, although domesticated animals provide happiness and love in a home, the decision to keep pets depends on several factors such as child's interest, country laws, family circumstances, and children abilities, rather than a general view that "all children" should have a pet.

I would be glad if you could review my essay and give a score for it.