IELTS2: Are the problems that international travellers cause greater than the advantages they bring?

essay about the tourism industry

TOPIC: International tourism has become a huge industry in the world. Are the problems that international travellers cause greater than the advantages they bring?

It is true that the international tourism industry has become more popular than before. Although there are those who may argue that this is a negative trend, I hold the belief that the advantages behind this trend far outweigh its drawbacks.

From my perspective, environment protection is the first and foremost issue nowadays. However, we all know that the fast development in the tourism industry would bring some problem to our society and there is a dilemma between development and environment. In the past, people could go to a beach and appreciate the beauty of sunset happily but now we seldom have a chance to do that because of the pollution. Many tourist attractions have been destroyed and lose their colourful scenery due to the prosperity in the tourism industry.

In spite of the above arguments, I still see this is a positive trend. The foremost reason for my point is that the development of international tourism improves our economic growth and even creates more job opportunities than before. Some traditional stores near a tourist attraction mainly depend on travellers to survive, and also many people work as a tour guide or offer a service to visitors. Moreover, governments could not only make more money from the tourism industry but also promote countries around the world. As a result, the development of international tourism is a positive evolution.

In conclusion, there are some pros and cons to this development, and I believe that this is a benefit in our lives.