Problems - New technologies have changes the way children spend their free time.

children spending time on electronic gadgets

Over the past decade, it is noticeable that the advent of modern technologies has led to changes in young children's recreational activities. While this tendency has several benefits, I strongly believe that they could never shadow the drawbacks for the following reasons.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that there are some advantages to children spending their spare time to improve their cognitive development. For example, solving the puzzles may enrich their lexical ranges; meanwhile, strategic games that enquire players to be good at problem-solving to deal with unexpected situations may enhance children's logical thinking and problem-solving skills. Secondly, young people might benefit from early exposure to the internet. For instance, it is widely acknowledged that watching foreign movies without subtitles can invisibly improve viewers' proficiency in foreign languages.

On the other hand, notwithstanding the above-mentioned benefits, I would argue that it will be a grave mistake to overlook some potential harms of excessive exposure to the latest technologies at an early age. One main drawback is that the addiction to the state-of-the-art may lead to a sedentary lifestyle. Scientific researchers have shown that children who spend successive hours on cable computers or smartphones are prone to lack physical activities, accountable for increasing the rate of overweight, obesity among children. In addition, another problem that should be taken into account is that unrestrained exposure to inappropriate information sources is likely to lead to the adoption of misguided beliefs. Statistics have pointed out that because of loose censorship, children who repeatedly exposed to violent content, brutal fighting scenes, obscene movies are inclined to be aggressive when solving conflicts with siblings or classmates and become juvenile delinquents later.

In conclusion, although there are advantages of children spending time on advanced technologies, it is immature to ignore intangible problems as discussed above