Problems and Solutions to the Increase in Number of Flights as a Result of Tourism (IELTS)

ESSAY PROMPT:

As the result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is an growing demand for more flights. What problem does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problems?

Owing to the rise in number of travelers and tourists all over the world, more airplanes are providing service to meet the demand. This brings environmental problems like air pollution as well as over-exploitation of natural resources. There are a number of solutions which should be implemented to deal with the negative consequences.

Firstly, the air quality will seriously be affected due to the pollutants emitted when the airplanes are flying. For instance, carbon dioxide will be released when the fuel oil is burnt to produce energy, which the amount given out is much higher than other transportations. Secondly, more natural resources will be extracted, which, when too much are taken away to provide crude oil for fuels, will result in resources becoming unsustainable. Obviously, this brings disadvantages to the environment.

There are two effective key to the problem brought by the increase in number of flights. One way to tackle this is to tax short-distance travelers heavier as the gas emission charge. By doing this, the number of people travelling around by flight can be reduced, and people may be encouraged to choose other alternatives with lower emissions. Another method of dealing with the rise in number of flights is to ensure most planes are fully seated, since this can boost the energy efficacy - to provide service to most number of passengers using the same amount of energy. This solution would hopefully maximize the efficiency of an airplane.

In conclusion, adjusting the taxation to a higher level and ensuring a well seating arrangement are effective in coping with this issue. If government implemented these measures, the environmental problems resulted would soon be solved.