[IELTS WRITING TASK 2] PROBLEMS/SOLUTIONS - UNLIMITED USE OF CARS

cars problem nowadays

In the hustle and bustle of today's world, owning a car has become one of the essential parts of many people's lives. Cars grant owners convenience, and also provide ready access to a variety of services and leisure options. Nevertheless, there is still a range of problems that should be identified and addressed.

There are innumerable drawbacks caused by this means of transportation, but one evident minus point is the environmental costs that frequent car use brings about. Vehicles have long been reported as a major cause of air pollution due to the released toxic fumes. The more cars traveling on the roads, the more emission being exhausted, leading to a severely polluted atmosphere. The noise from cars' horns is also an indisputable reason for the increase in noise pollution, especially in urban areas. Not only does the environment have to suffer but also the human's safety. Numerous casualties have been recorded annually resulting from car accidents.

Therefore, it is a must to tackle these issues, and some people support that a strict restriction on the use of cars should be imposed. However, it's not the best option at the time, especially when the need for flexibility is rising high and the car industry's role in a country's economy is becoming dominant. To alleviate the environmentally related impacts, encouraging citizens to travel by public means of transportation (bikes, buses...) or promoting environmentally-friendly cars which run on solar power should be taken into consideration. Another practical solution is to expand and enhance transport infrastructures to reduce the traffic jams and accidents.

To encapsulate, the regular use of cars does result in many problems related to not only the environment but also humanity. Despite the seemingly positive effects of limiting people's car use, it is unfortunately not a permanent cure. Immediate actions should be taken with the view to avoiding severe consequences.