Problems with student behavior. What causes this and how to react.

child and youth misbehaviour

In many countries schools have severe problems with student behaviour.

What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

A generation ago, the bond between teachers and children was strong and children were taught to look up to their teachers. However, it seems clear that children do not have the same respect for teachers as in the past. This essay will analyse the reasons why students misbehave in school and propose some remedial actions that can be taken to counter this issue.

One of the primary cause of the problem can be attributed to the lack of structure and discipline in school is becoming more prominent. In Vietnam, for example, students often chat in the classrooms and ignore the teachers, especially the gentle teachers, therefore the atmosphere are extremely noisy. The solution is for the school assembly to enforce a clear rule. They also need to punish justifiably the misbehaviour students which would result in a healthy ecosystem and children behave appropriately.

Another vital problem is that some parents are too lenient and spoil their offspring. In many Asian countries, children are used to getting whatever they want at home, therefore, they will tend to act in the same manner at school. Additionally, in this fast pace of modern life, parents tend to devote very little time with their adolescents, as a result, children lack parental guidance and they have a minimum knowledge about the moral values as well as the sense of respect to their teachers. To tackle this issue, parents must take responsibility for shaping their children's behaviour and they need to work closely with schools because schools can do very little if they are not supported by parents.

A third cause of the problem is that there are too many students in some classes. Recently, it has become evident that controlling a large-size lass is extremely hard and teachers do not allow using corporal punishments in schools, therefore, teachers cannot manage all the students' behaviour. For instance, the average student numbers in most classes in Vietnam is 45, this makes teachers struggle with their children for many minutes before they can start the lessons. The way forward could be to cut the number of student in classes, and to take on more teaching assistants, which would help to control the children.

To sum up, it is clear that, children's misbehaviour is becoming significant in many schools, due to reasons such as the lack of discipline and education from home. Unless schools revamp their education system and parents become stern and create a harmonious environment at home, the children will continue to behave badly in school. My view is that the youth are the future of our society and it is our fundamental duty to guide and make them compassionate human beings.