'process of urbanization' - People living in big cities face many problems today

Appreciate all your help in advance. And wish you can give me a score according to ïźŠïźĽïź-ïź'ïźł standard.

Topic :

People living in big cities face many problems today. What are the problems? Should the government encourage people to live in regional towns?

standards: IELTS regular standards

The history of human civilization is entwined with the history of the ways we have learned to plan and supervise a city. Dating back to the very beginning, a market came into being as a result of barters. As time passed, the original tiny market grew larger, with more goods provided, attracting people to settle nearby. It was only owing to such principle, chasing for greater convenience and more commercial opportunities, can a market develop to be a village, a town, a city and even a metropolis.

The process of urbanization has indeed brought great benefits for us human beings. Yet there's a dark side to this picture: we are going too fast in some region. In other words, some big cities are now suffering from all sorts of problems resulted from over-urbanization. Before the government and urban planners could take measures, large amount of people have flooded into big cities, bringing about problems as below:

First of all, traffic. The daily increasing use of private cars has overtaken the capacity of present transportation system. Serious congestions, uprising incidence of road accidents have actually degraded our living quality in cities. The second problem must be real estate price. The supply doesn't meet the demand, price rises: basic economic principle. The house price in big cities has become rather prohibitive, far beyond the level a normal citizen could afford, which has lead to poor residence condition: people share a house or a room. And that will inevitably increase the conflicts among the whole society. The third should be the environment. Large populations are sharing limited natural resources and man-made facilities in big cities. There could only be one consequence: deteriorating environment ï poorer air condition, water and electricity shortage, hot-island effect, which have all been seen in China's big cities.

In fact, all of those existing problems have contradicted our original motives of dwelling in cities. Thus what should we do to rescue our cities? Government plays a vital role in the process. Fundamentally through cooperation with urban and regional planners, government should make a long-term plan of a city's design and construction, including its size, structure, transport layout, infrastructure system, etc. Moreover, government is also supposed to pass appropriate laws and policies to ensure the population growth would keep the same pace with the expansion of the city, for example, encouraging people to settle in sub-cities.