Production and consumption of GM foods Argumentative Essay.

Hi, this essay was just an exercise I did as practice. As I would be having an upcoming english argumentative essay soon.

I was wondering, is there any tips you have for me to better prep myself for the test ?

Let me know what you think of my essay.

Looking forward to any reply. Thank you.

Topic: Genetically-modified foods (GM foods) have been harshly criticised by many food activists. On the other hand, many advocates have supported the production and consumption of GM foods.

Which view do you agree with?

Side note: Text A, Text B are just essays that I had to refer to based on the exercise question that I did.

Word limit : 500-600 words

Essay:

Genetically-modified foods (GM foods) are created from organisms where their DNA has been altered unnaturally. The use of GM foods helps in the increase of food production, mostly in crops. The use of GM food is important not just today but for the coming future. With an ever-increasing population, that is expected to reach nine billion by 2050. It is important to look for new sources such as GM foods that aid in increasing food production that can help to food more mouths. Though there are food activists that are against the use of GM foods due to its potential health risks, studies show that they are more associated with animals and not much to humans(Text A). Such arguments brought from food activities are thus inconclusive.

I support the production and consumption of GM foods. I reason on how the production of GM foods not only increases food production to meet the demands of the global population but it can bring about health benefits as well.

Increasing Food production is essential in meeting the demands of a growing global population. Before the production of GM foods. Farmers suffer from crop loss due to insect pests. Farmers would have to use pesticides and fertilisers to fight against insects and to help increase crop production. The use of pesticides and fertilisers are not only costly but are hazardous to human health and can cause harm to the environment. Farmers would even have to increase their prices of crops to market. However, the use of GM foods can aid in reducing farmers' costs and eliminate the use of toxic pesticides. From Text B, "Growing GM foods such as larva-resistant corn can help eliminate the application of chemical pesticides and reduce the cost of bringing crop to market." The use of GM foods not only reduces framers' costs, but it also eliminates the use of chemical pesticides. Thus, allowing farmers to have an increase in their crop production and also able to deliver safe food to an ever-increasing global population for consumption.

With the use of GM foods, not only does it help increase production to meet the demands of the growing global population. The consumption of GM foods can bring about health benefits to the many. In third world nations, many rely solely on rice as their main staple. It does not even provide enough nutrients for their diet, thus leading them to be malnourished. However, with GM foods, it can be modified to provide additional vitamins to their diet. From Text B, 'Researchers at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology have created a strain of "golden" rice containing an unusually high content of beta- carotene (Vitamin A). ' The use of 'golden' rice can thus save many lives that are malnourished. Hence, with such GM foods, many people who are malnourished due to lack of vitamins in their diet, consumption of GM foods can aid in providing adequate vitamins for their dietary needs.

In summary, despite what food activists argue on the inconclusive studies on the potential health risks that GM foods bring to human, My view is that the consumption of GM foods should be decided by the consumer. GM foods should be labelled, allowing consumers to be aware that what they are consuming is GM food. There is no denying that with the production of GM foods, more crops could be brought to market, which would be sold thanks to the high demands of the ever-increasing global population, With the production of GM foods, those who consume it would gain health benefits, especially for those whose diet is malnourished.