IELTS; TV programmes are transmitted throughout the day and night

In some countries,TV programmes are transmitted throughout the day and night. Some people think that TV transmission is a positive development, while others it is negative.What is your opinion?

Whether the prevalence of television is more of a positive or negative development has been one of the most controversial topics that are discussed in day-to-day conversations, especially in recent years. I agree that TV is rather a negative development even though there are some obvious advantages associated with it.

There is no denying to the fact that watching television can be beneficial both to work and entertainment. Comprehensive knowledge can be gained from watching various programs without paying for any courses, such as business knowledge from BBC news and outdoor knowledge from documentaries, which can be useful if applied to work. For its entertainment function, TV is not only a nice way to relax, but also a good alternative to enlighten one's mood. By watching comedies, one can put worries aside for the moment, which can further benefit one's health in the long-term.

However, there are far more harmful effects that greatly exceed its benefits. It encourages passive thinking by allowing audience to do nothing but watch the planned plots. The more television that are watched by them, the less people are willing to think voluntarily. This could be detriment to creative thinking and, even worse, logical thinking abilities. Also, people could be addicted to watching television, especially to dramas, the plots of which are all tightly connected. this can exert even more profound effect on their work if they sacrifice their assignment for a few more episodes of TV series.

To conclude, it appears to me that despite some possible benefits TV may offer, the detriments of such invention have far outweighed its benefits.