Property prices and rents affected the livelihood of many Hong Kong people?

Property prices and rents have increased ,has the problem affected the livelihood of many Hong Kong people?

_____________________

Property prices and rents have increased more than 70% among last five years. The issue of marriage head for the rocks on mainland has been brought to the public attention. In fact, this phenomenon is existing in Hong Kong too.

Women marry for money and houses, while men wed for passion and looks. No matter how handsome does a man looks, women seem just expect their future husbands be the rich and influential. As far as they own a car and willing to share the expenses of dating, it is much more better. There is no doubt that women want to have a better life or getting retirement earlier and they want their future partner can take care of them. As for the men, what do they expect from their brides? Emotional involvement in the relationship ranked the highest. The main reason that delayed their marriage is the housing pressure. Most of the women said that they would not consider a man who earned less than HKD$10000 a month and still had to rent. It will stressing men if women have a high hope for them. What is more, the unreasonable property prices in Hong Kong is leading to postponing marriage.

Apart from the problem of delayed marriage, the property prices and rents has contributed significantly to general price deflation and weak economic activity. When it comes to the housing market, which is most closely linked to ordinary people's livelihood. The soaring prices have shut out many common salary earners, especially low- and middle-income groups. More and more people are unable to buy their own house and rent for one, the rents is very high that take up about 50% of their salary. No matter how much they had earned, they are still staying in the lower- or middle-class. Since they spend a big part of their money for their house, they may reduce their economic activity and entertainment.

On top of that, the huge prices and rents is a big impact of their quality of life. Some may think that they do not want to spend a huge amount of money for housing. Therefore, those people will find some lodgings which are cheaper but low quality. For instance, some may rent for a sub-divided house to live in. Those sub-divided houses are not safe and too crowded. There are no fire protection equipments and the smoke door are always blocked. It is really dangers to live in there.

Many youths today are under great pressure. The government should not stand aloof from the problem. It is vital that the government put its efforts to cool the runnig property market and adopted various measure to curb rising property prices.