Pros and cons of media on gender inequality

gender prejudices and media impact

In this day and age, in light of the significant changes in technology, human beings have profoundly been influenced by new media accompanied by people's perceptions shaped in the world. Some people are of the opinion that dozens of press are lessening the inequity in gender, whereas others are in the view that mass media activities aggravate gender prejudices. It is my firm belief we take both viewpoints into consideration.

To begin with, without doubt, the media is partly responsible for gender inequality. A typical example is the film industry, women are almost always victims sensitive information leaking (personal photos, dialogs, paperworks and documents). Regarding this issue, some parts of the public are sympathetic and condemn those who spread the private materials. While others are more curious, judging and, in some cases, even body-shaming.

On the other hand, the media also plays a crucial role in curtailing gender discrimination. With the rapid development of technology, communication, social networks, women nowadays have ample means to raise their voices to protect their rights. For instance, if a short video or an audio recording with discriminatory content is spreaded on the media, almost immediately, the victim will be protected by public opinion. The noteworthyscandal of abusement of actresses, female singers in Korea or the abuse of actresses inHollywood are typical examples. These will never be brought to light without the involvement of the media.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that media has both merits and demerits. However, I do reckon that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks due to the aforementioned reasons.