Pros and cons of taking year off and traveling as a backpacker or working in a small company; IELTS2

Thanks everyone for editing my writing. I hope I can achieve a better result after all of your helps.

Writing Question:

It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

My writing:

Travel or work in a gap year between college and university is a new trend in the society. Some said this idea was good for teenagers to have a relaxing year while others argued the financial burden caused. This essay covers both pros, cons and will give personal point of view at the end.

The gap year is the last chance for teenagers to think about their future. Studying in a university is a step before being an adult. Through traveling or working, they will be mature. As they are experiencing lives away from home, they take the responsibility of themselves and manage the whole year journey alone. Hereafter, they will understand the society by the solid experience. With such mature mind, they will eventually realize the importance of studying and be more responsible to their own lives.

Despite the advantages associated with the gap year, there is not many families can financially support their children for it. If the teenagers insist to have year free, a financial burden and damage to the family relationship would be caused. Nevertheless, some teenagers tend to be abandon during the gap year by watching television and staying at home all days long. This is a meaningless holiday. In some extreme cases, the university may not agree to take the year gap. The teenagers may put themselves at risk to lose the university offer.

In short, a meaningful gap year is governed by the choice of teenagers. How they plan and execute the long holiday will certainly affect the result of it. Personally, I strongly advise teenagers to take a meaningful gap year by traveling as backpacker or working in a small company to gain experience.