PROS AND CONS OF TRAVELLING TO REMOTE NATURAL ENVIRONMENT

Topic: It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Wilderness tourism

Wilderness tourism is increasingly popular in recent years, which has sparked a bitter debate over the pros and cons of this brand-new services. Personally, I firmly believe that large-scale travels to remote areas should be considered meticulously before being launched due to their possible detriments

On the one hand, adventure tourism should be encouraged for several reasons. Firstly, journeys to isolated regions are referred as remedies for unquenchable curiosity of human being. Discovering pristine lands empower travellers to push out the horizon of their knowledge and enjoying unforgettable memories with Mother of Nature. Secondly, this kind of tourism is also beneficial from a economic perspective. Being aimed at high-spending visitors, the so-called upper-crust services contribute considerably to the revenue of tourism firms and native countries, as well as creating millions of jobs worldwide. Thirdly, those journeys grant man the opportunities for a sustainable future. There is probably fossil fuel and other valuable resources remained unknow in those locations, waiting to be discovered by the pioneers.

On the other hand, voyages to isolated territories are not without their shortcomings. The ecosystem in those areas are at risk with the burgeon of tourism. Once outsiders flock to these fragile environment, such as Sahara desert or the South Pole, the habitats might be destroyed. This in turn lead to massive loss of endangered species. Furthermore, overexploitation and tourism can result in the demise of traditional customs and heritages of native tribes for the sake of adaption to tourists' lifestyle. Obviously, it is irrational to gamble environmental and cultural stability of these tranquil lands on satisfying a small groups of population.

In conclusion, like two sides of a coin, wilderness expeditions have their own set of merits and demerits. Thus, wary contemplation and approaches must be adopted in order to minimize the hazards exerted by those journeys.