IELTS: pros and cons of work in other countries and take families together

Please feel free to comment, thanks !

Essay question: Many people work in other countries these days. They also take their families with them. Give your opinion about the situation. Do the advantages outweight the disadvantages?

In recent years, the trend of people working abroad is becoming increasingly prevalent. This phenomenon is largely stem from greater job opportunities, better working environment and higher paid. Many of them bring along their family members such as their wife, children, and even parents with them. Such situation has both merits and demerits and will be analyzed in this essay.

The most prominent benefit of taking their family members with them is that family is inevitably an essential part of everyone's life. They can give us support and guidance whenever we face any problems and obstacles. If a person have to work in other country and living alone, they would suffer loneliness and homesickness. Therefore, bringing families together will enjoy greater companionship.

Nevertheless, it is widely agreed that taking their families together have a couple of drawbacks. Firstly, living in other country means that adapting in a totally new environment. Some family members in particular elderly parents, may not able to accustom with the weather, food and culture. They may even experiencing language barrier and as a result, they fail to make any friends which could lead them to loneliness and isolation.

A further disadvantage is that it has certainly impacted to one's own country's economy. This 'brain drain' that involve sheer volume of people from various industries such as financial and commercial sectors undoubtedly has an adverse effect on the country's development. As a result of this, the countries might become poorer due to dwindle in intellectuals.

In conclusion, I believe the disadvantages of bringing their families with them to other country outweigh the advantages. This trend is expected to persist and even increase. Therefore, governments should try all means at their disposal to minimize this deteriorating trend.