The pros and cons of working remotely

Pros and cons of working from home

Nowadays, people can make a career choice to earn a living. Regardless of the traditional way, going to the office, people can work from home. Although this type of work is on the rise, it has disadvantages besides advantages.

On the one hand, working from home enables workers to save time. In fact, instead of wasting priceless time to move their own way to work in traffic jams, commuters can work from home and reduce the travel time. Also, with this benefit, employees can decide their own timings and can accommodate other tasks that need to be accomplished. Particularly, for those who have small babies, homely working helps to have time with their children and fulfill their parental responsibility. Besides, working remotely helps create job opportunities for the disabled, especially those people who have difficulty in travelling long distance to - and - from work. Although telecommuting requires some training, it can ensure workers having a job on the premises and they can make ends meet at least.

On the other hand, remote working lacks human interaction. In other words, there is no talk or exchanging information between colleagues. Working alone can cause employees to become isolated and unmotivated thus having no promotion of work. In addition, homely working cannot guarantee the productivity of work. Obviously, homely workers tend not to really work and end up with goofing off. Also, it is impossible for parents to look after their children and do their jobs effectively simultaneously. Hence, without the pressure of a formal set-up or the supervision of the boss, the productivity of work can decline.

In conclusion, whatever the type of working is, it has both good and bad sides. For telecommuting, it is better to have a specific set of rules or guidelines so that it still ensures the productivity of work.