ielts- should we provide children in rural communities with more schools or computers

In developing countries, children in rural communities have less access to education. Some people believe that the problem can be solved by providing more schools and teachers, while others think that the problem can be solved by providing computers and Internet access. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The young in remote areas are facing up to several difficulties in the persuit of knowledge. While many people suggest that building schools and sending teachers to such regions are the best provision to be made to help them, others believe that aiding in technological devices such as computer and internet is the optimal solution. In my opinion, though each idea has its own benefits, the latter seems to be more potential and practicabe.

Establishing more schools and providing qualified teachers obviously have a good impact on improving student's quality in rural areas. This is because good provision of facilities such as laboratories , projectors and high-quality tables and chairs strongly motivates students to dig into the subject at school. By conducting experiments in science subjects as well as watching vivid images and videos, students enhance their knowledge more quickly and develop an interest to the subject. Also, better tutors can set as good examples, encouraging children to study more. To illustrate, frequent interaction with gifted teachers gives the young strong inspiration and excitement, thereby put more effort to studying so as to become as knowledgeable as their tutors. However, a large sum of money must be invested in education for good teachers and materials.

Petrsonal computer and internet access are beneficial for rural student for several reasons. Firstly, it is an immense source of information, far eclipsing textbooks in many aspects, such as new bakthrough in science or recent astronomy discoveries. Secondly, it is an effective way for self-studying. Children who are busy all day helping their parents can still keep learning at night with the companion of a computer.Though not having a chance to carry out experiments, they have a wider selection of videos to watch and can learn at their own pace. Another advantage is that the internet promotes correspontence with talented students all over the world. Students tend to learn from their peers, which means they can improve their academic performance more efficiently by exchanging information with online gifted students. The good point is, all of these benefits can be obtained within a small budget.

In conclusion,while building schools with good lecturers means a source of motivation and good exemplary, more knowledge is available for students on the internet and more academic cooperation with gifted friends are promoted there. Therefore, the best solution to low education standard in rural areas is to equip the young with computers and internet access.