Psychology Concepts applied to the real world

ASSIGNMENT: THE PURPOSE OF THE WRITING ASSIGNMENT IS TO HAVE YOU APPLY PSYCHOLOGY CONCEPTS FROM CLASS LECTURE OR FROM YOUR TEXTBOOK TO THE REAL WORLD IN WHICH WE LIVE. SPECIFICALLY, YOU WILL EXPLORE THE PRESENCE OF PSYCHOLOGICAL CONCEPTS IN VARIOUS FORMS OF MEDIA: MOVIES, MUSIC, AND ART

The movie I wrote my paper about is the phenomenal COCO Chanel. The movie premičred on Lifetime movie network (LMN); and it inspired me to sacrifice and overcome all obstacles in order to achieve my dreams.

Gabrielle Chanel grew up very poor. Her mother taught them to sew there clothes before she died. Chanel's father placed her and her sister into a French orphanage. Gabrielle was heartbroken when her father left and never returned. She remembered her mother telling her to always look after her sister; so that made her strong. When Gabrielle turned 18 she had to move out on her own. She found a job working as a dressmaker assistant and they provided room and board. Gabrielle worked diligently everyday hand sewing many dresses for all size women. She stayed very close to her sister bringing her there to work and live also. Gabrielle met an Englishman named Eszie on duty in the army and he swept her off her feet. He took her to live in his enormous mansion; where he gave her the nick name Coco. She loved her life with Eszie, so she explored her passion and begun sewing hats. Her hats were so unique and fashionable, that many women were green with envy. However, she received compliments from the royal princess. Eszie best friend Boi came from the army to visit. Boi and Coco got along very well because they both had a traumatic past. Boi noticed Coco had real talent making hats and he admired that about her. Coco realized that Eszie intensions were not to marry her. He was not ready for one woman; and he had Coco living there for only his pleasure. Eszie became very threatened by Boi's presence. Then, at sunrise Boi suddenly left without saying goodbye.

Coco decided to move to Paris with the little money she had, although she was alone and scared she had her passion to hold onto. Coco rented a room to sew and sell her hats, but business was very slow so she couldn't pay the rent. Surprisingly, Boi came to visit her and he noticed her financial hardship, so he decided to pay the rent for her. Coco and Boi eventually falls in love. Boi believes in her dream to sew hats so much that he brought a shop so Coco can become noticed for her talent. Coco and her sister opened a shop named Gabrielle Chanel. The shop lured women from all around the world to buy the unique hand sewed hats by Chanel. Business picked up very fast, but she also had a lot of critics. Coco dealt with women shunning her because she was raised poor. One customer came to the shop and made a comment "that she is just a little money grabber". Coco was confident to prove to all those jealous women, that if you believed in something enough you can achieve it. Next, Coco shop became the top seller in town. Boi was so in love with Coco that he proposed to her. Unfortunately, Coco declined his proposal because; she didn't want to marry him until she was no longer depended on him. Boi became very upset and he left for 2 weeks without writing or calling. During his time away Coco missed him dearly. She waited for the mail everyday looking for a letter from Boi. Meanwhile, Coco and her sister decided to start sewing woman clothes. She didn't like the sewing machine, so they hand sewed each stitch. Coco wanted women to dress to their likings, not to validate a man. Boi suddenly returned and Coco was no longer in despair. He loved her idea to begin a woman's clothing line, so he purchased another shop for her. Boi and Coco loved each other deeply, but Boi heart begun to have feelings for another woman. Ultimately, he proposed to his god sister and they got married. Coco was in disbelief, she was crushed. She continued to run her shop; but she blamed her self for the reason Boi married another women. Coco stated" if I only would've accepted your proposal, we will be the one's married". Boi and Coco stayed apart for years there out. Until one day during Christmas she received a phone call from Boi. He expressed his dying love for Coco, and he told her he was coming back to be with her. Coco was flabbergasted; so she waited up all night for Boi. The next morning Coco received a call that Boi was in an accident. When Coco arrived on the scene; Boi was dead. Coco cried unstoppable, and drifting on a tree branch was the scarf she made for Boi. Consequently, she continued to run her shop. Today she is known world wide for her effort to make women feel validated. Coco has conquered the world with her perfume Chanel No.5.