TOEFL: Public health. Should government introduce a law or is it a personal issue?

Thank anyone of you who helped me before. And I am keeping practicing. Hope someday my writing skills will be as good as yours!

Recently, food safety is gradually becoming one of the main social issues in many countries. In that context, government agencies and medical activists start to give serious attention to public health. On the one hand, some people argue that government should introduce rigorous laws into food industry. On the other hand, others prefer to make their own decisions about what to eat. From my perspective, I am convinced that people have rights to choose what food they want to eat, but government provide guidance that can help them know how to choose healthy food and keep fit as well.

To begin with, in the modern society, people living in a stressful life can be highly susceptible to many diseases both mentally and physically. However, if our government don't take prompt measures to supervise the food industry, it, driven by interests of shareholder and manager, will make an egregious conduct which will results in uncountable loss to the society such as the formula milk that indirectly make several babies died in China. Consequently, if people believe the self-regulate ability of food industry and the supervision of government agencies is unnecessary, we will be too naive and gullible.