Public health improvement essay - number of facilities

Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of facilities. Others, However, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

answer-

In today's modern era, public health is threatened by many different factors. However, among the most debated one is lack of sports facilities. Some believes that the best way to improve health of residents is by increasing the number of sports facilities whereas others refute by highlighting other aspects. To see how valid this argument is, we have to look at both the sides of the debate.

First of all, enhancing the number of sporting facilities will certain have effects on people health. For example, the easier access to the equipment will enhance the number of locals doing regular exercise. Furthermore, this will benefit them to stay healthy by burning more calories, building strong bones and developing muscles. Thus, it is pretty clear why there are merits to this view.

On the other hand, exercise alone cannot improve the standard of public health. Healthy lifestyle and diet plays an essential role on keeping people fit. Junk food and carbohydrate drink add insult to injury and Government should take necessary precaution. For instance, countries like Zimbabwe, Cambodia and Ghana have ban McDonalds restaurants to improvise the health of civilians. Furthermore, sedentary lifestyle should be changed by encouraging citizens to do more walking for shorter distance. From this it becomes quite evident that other aspects are equally important for building healthy society.

To conclude, both sides of the argument regarding number of sports facilities have stronger support. However after analyzing both sides it is clear that the idea of increasing numbers cannot be supported. As such, it is predicted that the negative aspects of the debate over sports facilities will forever be stronger than the positive one and because of this we should concentrate on other aspects to improvise public health.