PUBLIC LIBRARIES AND THEIR FUNCTION FOR HUMANS. Are they redundant already?

Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

public libraries services without human?

The technology computer is changing all activities people In the world, in which preserving of general libraries uses a manpower that spends much money. However, in my opinion, I tend to disagree with that statement, public libraries still need the people inside in which there are some benefits in security and maintenance side.

Firstly, the most reasonable why human beings still require is safety. Moreover, the general libraries have many book and manuscript in which the values of those are so expensive in which human activity very essential to secure it. For example, most of building and office include the libraries still use the people as the security guard. Because using the computer has a limitation to avoid each threat come. As a consequence, the safety of public library need be guaranteed. Finally, in security side, the human function still irreplaceable.

In addition, the other benefits the people are needed is history side. Because most of the books in the library have oldest ages in which some book is invaluable if be looked history, thus is needed extra maintenance to care that books, which the computer is difficult to handle it. For instance, the Indonesian National library Jakarta every three days the officer staff check and clean the oldest manuscript or book such Negarakertagama, or Serat Centini, from dust and fungus, in which those books are the highest circumspection for the treatment. As a result the oldest book function still useful for the next generation reader. So the human activities to maintain the antique book still essential.

In contrary, another case, the computer also has an important case to make the job easy in which it can reduce off time and money. However, doing all activities only by the computer is not guarantee in security method and technical treatment the some ancient books. Therefore, human function in public library always is useful.

The aforementioned evidence shows that people have a crucial aspect in the books maintenance and safety the public library.