public services should be invested by the government; why invest in arts

QUESTION

Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Answer

Recently, the government has spent a lot of money in both public services and arts. Although it is important that the government invests its budget on public services, I do not agree spending on the arts is waste of money.

There is a reason about why the government should spend an amount of money on public services such as education and medication. In general, the government plays an important role in resolving the inequality in education and medication between the rich and the poor. If government does not spend enough money on these services, poor people who only have the minimal amount of money for survival or cannot earn a little money due to their physical or mental disability will have educational and medical benefits less than rich people. In other words, unless government invests on public services, inequality in education and medication among the public will not be solved. And it means that government does not play its intrinsic role. For this reason, the government should invest its budget on public services.

However, it does not mean that government should not invest in the arts because they contribute to enhance general public's quality of life. Many people tend to feel happy when they listen to music, appreciate beautiful artworks and see theatre perfomances. But most artists who create these artworks earn a little money before they become famous. So if government does not spend money for supporting artists, they might stop working due to financial difficulty and it will be likely to generate lowered living standards of general public. Thus, to prevent from lowering living standards of these people, the government should invest in the arts.

For the reasons mentioned above, I agree that public services should be invested by the government. But I am against that government investment in the arts is a waste of money because arts have an important impact on people's quality of life.