IELTS Essay Task 2 Public spending on arts is a waste of money, agree or not?

funds on public services only instead of the arts?

Title: Some people think that governments should only focus their spending on public services, and they claim that spending on arts is a waste of money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

My work:

Some people hold the belief that the public money should only be spent on public sectors, such as education and health care, and the money is wasted if it is spent on arts. I completely disagree with this statement and I personally believe it is as important to spend money on arts as on public services.

The first reason why I believe so is that just as public services, the arts industry is directly linked to people' wellbeing. While health care services ensure people's physical fitness, arts, which relax and entertain people, can guarantee people's mental and psychological health. Studies have shown that people are less likely to be involved in mental illnesses such as depression or anxiety if they have a longer contact time with arts. In this regard, the funding on arts is as necessary as that on public services.

More than that, another cogent reason to fund on arts is that the input can create revenues and boost the economy. For example, a remote village in Korea has become a famous tourist spot and attracted millions of tourists a year just because the local authority encouraged the creation on arts, especially on painting, and the whole village has been coated with colorful pictures. The village has thrived due to the spending on arts, and without this practice, it would otherwise stay underprivileged. There are many other cities around the globe have earned fame and fortune through developing arts in local areas, including building majestic museums or holding great concerts. In contrast, the money spent on public services can hardly see any economic outcomes.

In conclusion, I totally disagree with that we should only spend on public services instead of the arts. On the contrary, I personally believe investing public money on arts is as significant as allocating grants on public sectors because it not only ensures people's mental health but also can be profitable and make the local prosperous.