IELTS Writing Task 2: Public Transport, convenient metro

Topic:

Public transportation is a great way to travel, particularly within a metropolis. The metro is the most convenient way to get around a city.

Do you agree or disagree?

The worldwide introduction of metro systems has revolutionized the way of traveling in densely populated cities. Henceforth, urban areas residents have voiced agreements as they recognize it as the most favorable means for public mobility. The convenience of underground rails could be proven via two main aspects, which this essay would discuss.

Possibly the most worth-mentioning factor contributing to metro system effectiveness is their affordable cost, especially for inhabitants of lower classes. To illustrate, a significant fraction of underground railway passengers are economic migrants, whose income is hardly sufficient for private vehicles, and government subsidies could grant them better chances to travel. Additionally, underground railway systems' requirements for annual maintenance and staff costs are only a fraction compared to that of other public means of transport. For instance, taxis operation demands enormous human resources for coordination and customer service, which accumulates to augment the final fee.

Another property of metro systems that further enhance city travelers' experience is their time efficiency compared to conventional methods. One reason is that railway's schedules remain active throughout the day, thereby becoming tailor-made for the fast-paced lifestyles required for urban citizens. Furthermore, subway passengers are blessed with a complete absence of congestion, as the nonexistence of obstruction assists bullet trains to go at full throttle. As a result, time wasted on traffic jams and the frustration thereof can be obliterated, thus increase the workforce's productivity.

In conclusion, this essay has advocated the practicality of subway stations in the urban environment based on the mentioned arguments.