IELTS task 2 - Should we punish our children?

punishment is effective yet unnecessary

Being parents of our children, there is no doubt that people always want to provide them with the best resources in order to assist them to grow up and acquire knowledge well. When it comes to how to educate them, some people believe that punishment is crucial in their learning journey. From my perspective, however, I do not agree with this opinion.

First, punishment is effective yet unnecessary. People may consider it is beneficial to teach the children distinguish between right and wrong when they are young, and in fact, it does. Nevertheless, children can actually gain the exact same concept without being punished. As a student who has taken several courses about education in college, I have learned many teaching methods utilizing reward instead of punishment. For example, when a student doessomething right, the teacher can give him a candy so that he knows his conduct was fine. On the other hand, if he does something wrong, the teacher can make him notice it simply by removing the reward, which will be a candy in the same context.

Secondly, it may hurt the children and even cause trauma not only physically but mentally if we misuse punishment. Unfortunately, most people were not trained to become a professional teacher, which raises the risk of punishing children in an inappropriate way, making our children afraid of making mistakes, and become too conservative or shy in the future.

In conclusion, I do not agree that punishment is a necessary strategy in terms of teaching children, and it can be replaced by giving rewards, which brings about the same result. In addition, it will be risky for people who are not skilled enough. Therefore, it will be much safer and better to reward more, and punish less.