Punish criminals and training courses and education offer

reasonable treatment for prisoners

Serious criminals deserve to be confined in jail for their wrongdoings, but I believe that providing education and training for prisoner is a reasonable treatment.

On the one hand, imprisonment is a justifiable form of punishment for serious criminals. Firstly, serious affect the lives of innocent people; therefore, imprisonment is a way to ensure justice. In this way, incarcerating the criminals can punish criminals by depriving them of their freedom and basic rights, which leads them having to suffer because of their wrongdoing, thus warning other people against committing in society. Secondly, incarcerating the criminals can punish criminals by depriving them of their freedom and basic rights, which leads to having a criminal record, which means fewer job opportunities and social discrimination later on. Therefore, serious criminals have little chance to reintegrate in community after release and hence cannot escape the perpetual cycle of crime.

However, I would argue that providing education for prisoners is of great benefit. Education and career training courses raise awareness of acceptable behaviour, which helps offenders to figure out the negative consequences that their family and victims suffer due to their mistakes, thus developing a sense of responsibility as well as equipping prisoners with employable skills. As a result, criminals can stand a higher chance of finding a suitable job when released, which allows them to be able to afford a decent life, thus being discouraged from recommitting crime. In this way, society would benefit from lower crime rate, making it reasonable to invest in education for prisoners.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that serious criminal who repeatedly re-offend must be jailed, but I believe that training courses and education certainly bring a range of benefits.