Punishment is the only way to help children learn right and wrong. Agree or disagree?

Is it necessary to punish the kids?

Someone believe that discipline it is needed to help them determine the perception of good and bad at youngster. I totally disagree with this opinion because punishment leads to the shy in communicating and bad behavior of children in the future.

The main reason why I feel that children should not be punished is because this will harm the confidence of them. As youngsters are always in nerve when they want to try some new things, they tend to close their lives. Gradually, they do not have interest in communicating with others. To illustrate, I used to be punished for dropping soup when I was eating too fast, then I felt scary when I see that food again. Luckily, that feeling was overcome but I still remember it until now.

Another reason why I do not support the notion that punishing children is necessary is due to the fact that abused children are very easy to have negative thought. That bad thinking is accumulated gradually by time will be exploded at a crisis moment, and in the worst case it may cause murder. I cannot count how many cases that the killer had a very bad childhood because of serious hurt.

In conclusion, I completely disagree that it is necessary for children to be punished. Not only making feel shy and unconfident in doing anything and communicating but also compressing the negative emotion in their mind, then leading to bad situations. Given this situation, it seems that in order to teach children the good and bad, parents should be patient and try to analyze the mistake when they make it.