Purchasing the same goods in every part of the world - a good or bad trend?

Hi,

I'm going to have a test on 14/4 so I really need your help. Thanks in advance!

IELTS Writing Task 2: Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Here is my essay:

the global distribution of products

There is increasingly common trend these days that residents can purchase the similar goods anywhere in the world. From my perspective, I firmly believe that this is a beneficial change for people in modern life.

It is clearly evident that the global distribution of products is of incredible help in reducing the total prices, which is resulted from the decrease of the total cost of importing goods. In fact, the imported goods are priced based on all the relevant fees that a company is supposed to bear when they import goods from foreign countries, for example, shipping fee, importing tax. One good illustration here is that since Zara opened a new branch in Vietnam, Vietnamese can pay more reasonable amount of money for its clothes, more specifically, it is cheaper than the ordered ones from foreign countries.

In addition, providing the same products around the world can mitigate the risk of shipping goods to other nations. First of all, long-distance transportation by several means of transport such as ships, trains, planes often take such a long period of time for the products to get their destinations, which sometimes irritates the buyers if those goods are shipped after the expected dates. It is also possible to say that the products are endangered of being lost or stolen on the way. A fairly good example should be mentioned here is that some travelers by planes claim for package pilfering, leading to missing items in the suitcases which are bought in foreign nations.

In conclusion, I strongly support the idea that the advantages of purchasing the same goods in every part of the world is considerable.