In the pursuit of peace, is it okay to sacrifice the lives and freedoms of some?

Feedback is welcome!

Throughout history, there are many incidents where people's freedoms and lives were sacrificed in the name of peace and stability. Personally, I do not believe peace can be achieved by manipulating others because true peace is not acquired through suppressing individuals with rules and regulations; it is acquired through building an understanding between individuals.

Peace that is kept by suppressing the freedom of others is no better than slavery. When the communist party took over China in the early 20th century, it enforced an equality policy on its citizens. The party strongly believed that to achieve peace and tranquility, everyone should be equal - regardless of their intelligence, background and procession - and the government should be the in control of all things in the country. As a result, many people were stripped of their personal belongings, status, and wealth, and the economic better ones were accused robbing the nation's resource and were sentenced to death penalty. During these times, many people were starved to death because what the government provided was not enough. Yet, no one dared to revolt because the government had all the powers; as a result, this peace, which is more pertinent to slavery, was created by this atrocious governing method.

To achieve the true peace, people first need to establish an understanding between each other and doing so can prevent many human-made tragedies. For instance, wars, throughout the age of humanity, have happened primarily because people are unable to come to an acceptable agreement with their adversaries; they do not understand the viewpoints of others. Hence, people will selfishly think for their own benefits and result in conflicts that pose harm to both sides. Many of the time these conflicts are unnecessary if both sides can compromise through understanding the need of each; they can come to a mutual agreement, resolving a potentially harmful situation. In short, when people start to understand each other's point of view, many atrocious conflicts can be avoided.

In summary, I do not believe peace can be attained by confining lives with rules and regulations. Using force to create peace is not ideal because many people will suffer. However, if people are able to understand each other, many conflicts can be resolved - peace is created.