Pushed by eager mother to enter sports clubs because it builds 'character'. Competition or fun?

Hello everyone, this is a TOEFL essay;

I must admit, the example in the second paragraph is a complete lie;;; I was running out of time and I thought it would work. Let me know if there are better examples suited for the details. Thanks in advance!

Agree or disagree?

Children should play sports for fun rather than for competition.

Have you ever been pushed by your eager mother to enter sports clubs because it builds your 'character'? I was forced to participate in various sports clubs when I was young. Back then, I detested it since I participated without my volition, but now I thank these experiences for teaching me how life is a competition and those who emerge victorious prevails. This is why I disagree with the statement children should play sports for entertainment instead of competing.

Most people think being a child is all fun and games. Although it may seem so on the outside perspective, with deeper thought, every game, action, or pastime children do are all related with a moral or life lesson. Playing sports is one of them. Sports, whether played with team or against a single individual, is a competition that measures player's determination and fervor. Thus, it is no surprise that some players might surpass their limits in order to emerge victorious over their rivals. Such motivation and opportunity to surpass oneself is a priceless feeling that can lead to courage, leadership, and self-confidence. Personally, I played badminton against my older brother when I was young. After several rounds of losing pathetically, I vowed myself that I would one day defeat my brother not because I lost, but because I wanted to show him my passion and determination. Even after weeks of vigorous playing, I was never able to defeat my brother. Nevertheless, he was impressed by my performance and acknowledged me for my effort. This respect in turn, allowed me to respect myself for fighting so furiously. In effect, this experience changed me to give everything I have at whatever I am doing. As anyone can see, playing sports as a competition reveals one's own hidden potential which can lead to self-respect and confidence. This is why I think sports should be played for competing against not merely to have fun.

On the contrary, if sports were played for entertainment rather than for competition, most children will only goof off during practice. Many parents or the coach wouldn't mind, after all, children goof around all the time, but they do not realize the danger of this action. Children mature alongside the experiences they created. The experience of lazing around during practice because they primarily think that sports is for fun could change their entire lives. Most of these aforementioned children would most likely slack off as they grow up. They would think everything in life is a jest, a jocular game that merely entertains just like the sports practices they inertly spent back when they were young. This is disastrous to the society because not only does it produce inefficient employees, but also difficult for leaders or government to lead these people to a better cause. For To provide a personal example, I know a friend who participated in a basketball club who only joined because his best buddies were there as well. Obviously, he joked around and ignored the instructor's orders continuously. Not surprisingly, as he grew up, he ignored his responsibilities and laughed off everything others considered critical and serious. To have a generation full of immature people like him is horrendous for it would completely destroy society as we know it. Therefore, I completely assert that sports should be played for competition.

To summarize, sports should be played for competitions because by doing so enhances confidence and diligence to children who will in turn grow to dependable people which in turn will benefit the society.

(587)