PUTTING WORMS TO WORK TO HELP YOUR GARDEN

Earthworms, a disgusting creature for some people, help gardeners & farmers to turn their crops become better by making compost and put it on soil. You are able to make your own compost from food residue with or without worms. Yet, it is better to put worms especially red worms well-known as red wigglers. Kim Gabel from the University of Florida states "The red wigglers are the best varieties for doing it because they are more of a surface feeder". A container is needed to put the waste food and the worms; and you should make a holes on the composing bin, so it could get some air. Kim Gabel said "the worms do breathe. So that is a very important factor. They also like to be in the dark". Therefore, make sure to keep the bin dark. Aside from keeping it in the dark, the worms prefer a moderate temperature by putting your bin indoor. To prevent unpleasant smell, you can do limitation to the amount of food that you put on it. As you composting with worms, remember to put something soft like sheet, control the moisture not too wet by not adding to much water on it. In period six-month your compost can be used.