Qualities that are important to be a good supervisor. Use examples and details to answer why?

a great boss - who's that?

The quality of work done by a group of people is always dependent on how well the person who leads the team is able to manage and distribute the work amongst the members. The role of a good supervisor is definitely tough and there are several characteristics one must possess to be able to lead a team. the qualities that are foremost, to become a well appreciated supervisor would be i. fair and equal treatment of the people who work under him/her, ii. Constant efforts in building the morale of the team, iii. Encourages and challenges team members for the betterment of the team and the individual.

A good boss would never differentiate between his/her employees. He wouldn't put one employee over the other due to personal preferences. He is expected to give equal opportunities and treatment to his employees. For instance, there shouldn't be any bias in his decisions on the basis of gender. Every employee should be equally trained in order to showcase their potential.

He would maintain a cordial and professional relationship with each and every employee. For example, if a team member puts forth their idea which does not match with the idea of the supervisor, he must not take it personally. The supervisor must consider this idea and if the idea/plan is genuinely good then he should appreciate the team member and go ahead with it. Every boss should be open to discussions and frequent huddles with the members of his team. This would allow his employee to present their thoughts without any hesitation. I believe this would help in increasing enthusiastic participation by the team members in the work allotted to the team. This would play a role in building a rapport amongst the members of the team.

In addition to this, the most important aspect of a boss is the ability to equally distribute work. A confident boss would not prefer to do all the work instead would trust his team members by allocating work to them. For instance, he understands that there is a time limit to reach a particular goal for the team and since each of them is working towards the same professional goal, he would trust his employess and also the training provided by him and would encourage his team members to show their capacity.

In conclusion, The responsibilities of a supervisor are immense and that is why one must execute these with utmost dedication. Both the supervisor and the employees must work together with mutual respect for each other. If these qualities are met in a person, then we have found ourselves a great boss.