The question whether the children should read stories themselves or with a help from parents

parents should read or tell stories to children or not?

People have different views regarding to the question whether the children should read stories themselves or should be read by parents. I would argue that it is better for children when they listen to their parents reading or telling stories.

On the one hand, there are several reasons supporting that the children should read books and watch TV, movies by themselves. Firstly, this is a way which developing young people's ability of self - descipline. For example, if a child learns from the stories, TV or movies by themselves, they have ability to analyse the problem as well as understand the information. Secondly, parents are too busy to spend time reading or telling stories to children. Instead of waiting for parents, the children can arrange their timetable to read materials whenever they want.

On the other hand, listening to parents reading or telling stories is better than reading by themselves. Firstly, this fosters the intimate bonding between parents and children. Reading together is simply an enjoyable and easy way for parents to take out and focus on the family. Secondly, some small children need guidance and explanation when reading books. For instance, there are many enigmatic and complicated topics which the children can't understand without helping.

To sum up, I believe that it is always better for the parents as well as children if parents read or tell stories to their children.