IELTS Question: Freedom of Creative Artists: restriction or not?

Creative artists should be given freedom to express their ideas (words, pictures, music or films). However, some people think government should restrict them sometimes. Discuss the both view and give your own opinion.

Nowadays the discussion about the authority of innovative artists has become a controversy. While some individuals believe that government ought to prohibit some of the unconventional artistic works to be publicised, others claim that they are supposed to entitle the rights to present their thoughts in the ways they prefer. 50

Admittedly, creative movies which contain frantic and erotic images need to be restricted for its publicity. Firstly, it could destruct minors' mental developments. Unlike the adults, children are often curious and keen to imitate the behaviours which have been sighted from TV programs, possibly because they are mentally immature and incapable of distinguishing the true meanings. Secondly, freeing artists' creation could arouse the misleading in the society. For example,singular artists are likely to use the subjective and critical languages and symbols when they turn a historical event into a documentary to achieve their reputation and economic profits. 98

However, promoting creative artists to convey their opinions has plenty of merits. From the national level, paintings could be one of the most meaningful objects which represents a nation's identity and its culture in many international communication. Thus, in order to prevent a country becoming less known and assimilated, encouraging the innovation of the unconventional art works would be a necessity. From the individual level, vogue art works could satisfy people's spiritual enjoyment. For instance, a stylish sculptures can be used as a decorations, which could be wonderful for creating a comfortable and relaxing living and office environment. 100

In conclusion, even though innovative arts bring some negative influences, it is convincing that they are one of indispensable parts of national identity and citizen's spiritual enjoyment. 27 / 275

P.S. I am the one always find that topics about art, history, culture, language and tourism industry are difficult to come up with substantial ideas!