Toefl Question: Movies and books in a modern life

Question: Movies and books can reflect the ideas and the spirit of a particular period. What have you learned about a place or its people from watching films or reading books? Use specific examples and details to support your response.

In modern life, people not only need to work for earning enough money but we also need to relax and watching movies and reading books are some of the best way for entertainment. You can also learn many things about life by doing this.

Movies and books can reflect the ideas and the spirit of a particular period. As you know, the Titanic movies is one of the most famous films. Everyone like watching because of its romance, beautiful love, and the most important reason is because it recalls about an event that the Titanic was sunk and many people died because of that, this event made the movie become very famous even before this movie was shown.

We also have a lot of documentary movies or books that are about historical events, famous people who have achieve a great work and many beautiful places all over the world. Through those, we can learn about cultures and traditions of other countries. We can also learn how to help people, what we have to do to live more beautifully. We know that this world needs our contributions and we're responsible for that.

Learning something that is interesting to you is easier than learning something that is boring. Because of that, while you are watching movies or reading books, you are relaxed but you also learn something that you need for life. It's one of the best way to enrich your knowledge and save time.

Therefore, the industry of making movies and publishing books is now developing. We can consider movies and books as the second world that is familiar to our life.