Question 26: Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. A learn for kids?

presenting ex-criminals' experiences to children

Many criminals nowadays become good citizens after being released from prison. It is believed that they are the most suitable people to talk to children about the horror of committing crimes. Personally, I agree with this idea.

On the one hand, It is the fact that the way children are taught about criminal activities is quite boring. The traditional approach, having teachers who citing laws is extremely theoretical and uninteresting. Therefore, students will find it no interest in following to these classes. Having police officers sharing about crime experience is outdated and it just relates to one side of the story. As a result, it is clear that having a ex-criminals to share their own stories and how they turned to be good citizens would definitely a valuable experience for toddlers. For example, in Vietnam, the students always have a chance to see s.o who did a wrong thing but then realized their mistakes and strive to become better.

On the other hand, it is obvious why there are concerns about ex-cons being closed to their students. Firstly, there fear that students who didn't have deep understanding about the truth, consequently they will try to imitate these unethical behaviors, which leads to the increase of crime rate. However, these concerns should not be concerned at all. The ex-cons are mostly law abiding, therefore they may not harm children by telling mislead information. In addition to this, the meetings always be supervised strictly by teachers and parents, so it would be totally safe for these pupils.

In conclusion, although many people would argue that ex-criminals' experiences would be harmful, I believe that this is a innovative way to teach educate children on the dangers of breaking the laws.