TOEFL Essay Question 2 - Protecting kids from owning cell phones with Internet access

Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

young children and smartphones

Phones are a must in the current day and age. But are smart phones a must have for young children?. Personally, I believe that parents should not permit young children to own smart phones. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, young children do not possess the maturity to understand the pros and cons of possessing a smart phone. They get addicted to it. Young children instead of interacting with their friends or completing their assignments spend majority of their time after school hours on smart phones. For instance, my uncle's son, who owns a Google nexus phone, spends most of his time playing games and surfing the internet rather than on his studies. He spends a huge amount of time on social media such as facebook and twitter rather than interacting with his parent's or friends at home. This has negatively affected his grades. He is also becoming a couch potato and does not exercise or play games. Earlier when he did not own the phone he used to play football with his friend in the park near his home and also achieved better grades in his school assignments. He was also socially more interactive with his peers and parent's earlier.

Secondly, Young children require only a basic feature phone, which can only be used to make calls and send text. It is required by them for the purpose of keeping in touch and contacting their parents in case of emergencies. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I used to own an basic feature phone during my school days which I used for contacting my parents or my friends. It did not possess any games and so I never wasted my time using it. It did not have any negative impact on my grades and I had a good friends circle with whom i used to interact on a daily basis.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that parents should forbid young children from owning smart phones due to availability of basic feature phones for contact and children's lack of maturity.