The question - what is the right age for the children to start learning a new language

TOPIC: Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

MY ESSAY:

People have argued that what the right age is for the children to start learning a new language. Some would assume the student at primary school should learn a foreign language as they may pick up considerably faster and more accurate pronunciation in early age while it may have negative impacts on the development of a child's mother tongue. From my perspective, I would argue more benefits come from letting the young to speak foreign in their early age.

On the one hand, a child in primary school have better memory on vocabulary and be less self-conscious to speak a language from overseas countries through practices. When they are young, they are trained as a habitual practice to speak with foreigner. It is better for them to overcome fears in the young age. For example, in western society, parents usually teach their young kids some uncharted sports such as ice-skating. Furthermore, due to globalization it goes without saying that speak languages other than their mother tongue is growing extremely important these days.

On the other hand, given that other subjects such as Math or Natural Sciences are considered notably important by school authorities, learning foreign language can waste time than used to study those subjects. Besides, learning another language can interfere with the development of children's mother tongue. For example, student can confuse between grammatical usage and spelling of words of two languages. This could lead to the struggle to use their mother tongue.

To conclude, despite school administrator's preference on subjects and confusion that may be aroused from learning a second language, the benefits of learning new languages still outweigh the drawbacks because as a trend, parents would support their kids to learn foreign languages in early age to give an edge over the elder ones.