[TOEFL] A question about teacher`s remuneration

Hello :) I`m still going with the 30-minutes frame and I am starting to feel comfortable. Now I have some questions:

-when you read it, could you understand all of the sentences? Do I have overcomplicated paragraphs?

-Are you content with the examples I give? Are they appropriate and suitable?

-Do I have enough variety of sentence structure? I mean compounds, if-sentences and that stuff

-Is my dictionary rich and in the same time clear and easy to grasp

-last but not least - is my thesis fostered and clear

Well, I hope I`m not annoying with such questions. My essay here is not edited, for the sake of being as close to my performance in the exam day as I can.

98. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should be paid according to how much their students learn. Give specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

There have been a lot of proposals about paying the teachers proportional to the amount of knowledge they teach to their students. Since it may seems fair on the first glance, after a deeper look it is becoming clear that such a practice could be harmful. It is my firm conviction that the money teachers receive should not depend on the learning abilities of their students. Let us proceed to examine the reasons.

First, I can remember how in the first grades there were certain kids with obvious learning disabilities. Our teachers gave them unceasing attention, even more than the attention other children received, but it was in vain. Although all the special attention they received, these kids just did not want to learn, nevertheless all the efforts of the teachers. In this case, I do not believe that the blame is to be found anywhere else but in themselves.

The other side of the coin is the example of students who are simply not interested in learning. I have from-the-trenches experience with that instance, because I have been one of them. No matter how hard my teachers tried to teach me something, I just did not want to learn. I went to school only because it was mandatory and I went trough the motions without really giving it much attention. Consequently, I had poor scores despite all the work and teaching I have been subjected to. It is beyond any doubt that my teachers could not have done better job, and my personal results are not the mirror reflection of their efforts.

Then we approach the matter of complication. Everybody knows that in some disciplines like Electrotechnics not all the students could get high grades. The material is too tough be understood by anyone. I can recall my Electrotechnics teacher in high school, who used to say that if you do not have inclination for that science, you will never do your best. Hence half of the class got low scores, but that in no way meant that he was not a good teacher. He did his job with great passion and the teachers like him deserve respective remuneration.

With all that has been said, it is not hard to conclude that paying teachers on the base of the knowledge of students is wrong. People are not equal, therefore one could learn better than another, but that should not be a measure of lector's qualities and a condition, determining his or her salary.

(30 min)