"Questioning authority" - GRE topic.

"Question authority. Only by questioning accepted wisdom can we advance our understanding of the world."

Questioning authority is the source of understanding and the prerequisite for advancement. I agree that with this concept because questioning authority brings advancement to education, repairs faulty authority, and searches for the logic behind a law.

Advancement in the field of education is important because it empowers us. For example, before Charles Darwin discovered the theory of evolution he questioned the accepted belief of creationism. His finding led the world to understand that adaptation is the source of speciation. If he had not done so, people would continue to believe that god created all the animal biodiversity on earth.

Questioning those in power is crucial for keeping a government and its people in equilibrium. In countries where authorities are not questioned, people are oppressed. North Korea is one such country where those in power are not questioned. Their decision are made solely in their own interest. North Koreans have no influence on the condition and direction of their country and are starving to death. If the citizens had the right to question their leader, their power would increase and their condition would improve.

Searching for a logical explanation is important for one's motivation to follow rules. In the military, soldiers are often not presented with a reason for an action being asked of them. Soldiers become frustrated with this approach, and don't perform optimally. When I was in the military, a member of my platoon was ordered not to enter an area but was not provided an explanation. He disrequarded this order and entered the area to inquire what was not explained to him and was almost shot. If he was provided a reason for not entering, such a risk could have been avoided.

Questioning authority has the potential to escalate to chaos. Events in history such as the beating of Rodny King or the recent reelection of Ahmad Jinadad have led people to question. Both situations resulted in mass violence and death. Nevertheless, if questioning brings a positive impact then it must be done despite resistance.

Understanding and progress can only come through questioning. In education it enhances our knowledge. In government, it empowers citizens. And finally, peoples inclination to follow rules is strengthened because of it. Often times the path to advancement is arduous but are worthwhile once it yeilds positive results. The greatest triumphs in history were engendered by those who questioned.