IELTS, The radio service disappear in few years.

Due to the new technologies and the internet, radio is going to disappear in a few years. Do you agree or disagree with the statement? Give you own opinion.

With the development of internet and other advanced technologies, some people believe that the traditional radio seems to disappear from our daily life in future. I do not agree with this view, even though I do agree that the usage of radio is decreasing dramatically.

Admittedly, A large amount of audiences stop listening to radio because they tend to spend their time in other entertainments such as internet exploration, watching TV, etc.. The internet brings a different way of interaction (on demand), which allows individuals can access the information they wanted actively rather than rely on listening to radio passively. For example, people could simply search the data they interested and view them anytime they wanted. Watching TV, on the other hand, is more vivid than radio. It provides a visual feature for audience, which makes interaction become more natural and enjoyable.

But there are two main reasons for preventing traditional radio from going extinct. One reason is its convenience. It provides an opportunity to listen to radio that may contain musics, stories, news, etc., while users are doing other things. An usual practice is listening and walking. Another main reason is its availability. It is its availability that makes radio service is the one of the most common media around the world. People are able to listen to radio almost everywhere, even there are no internet access.

To sum up, although I agree that the number of radio audiences is dropping duo to internet and other technologies, I hardly think that radio may die out in one day. The convenience and availability of radio are going to gain some audiences so that it is unlikely to see radio disappear in future.