IELTS WRITING TASK 2: RADIO HAS TREMENDOUS EFFECT IN SHAPING PEOPLE'S IDEAS

Each form of mass media has great influence in shaping people's ideas.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In every era, mass media plays a critical role in our lives by providing us with the latest information and news. Radio, being classified into one of the media, has existed for several decades, providing people with valuable knowledge. However, there is a considerable group of people who question the accuracy and authenticity of reports from radios while others are still inclined to the efficiency of them.

On the one hand, the advantages of radios for education, entertainment and awareness is evident. It provides many means of communication for people from different cultures, religions, races and regions. As a consequence, the barriers between people of such diversities are narrowed. However, inadvertently, we are prone to grow subservient on these transistor radios that fact-checking appears unnecessary.

On the other hand, this inclination has detrimental outcomes, as we gradually let our judgment be clouded by that of the media's. Mass media in general and radios in particular, tend to report wars with a biased verdict, which is the good and bad side being determined for the people by reporters, editors and commentators. For instance, during World War Two, General Philippe Pétain, who served for the Vichy government, spread false propaganda through radios to citizens of the Occupied Zone, stating that France is coming to victory. While the truth, which was that the Occupied Zone was being devastated by the enemies, was carefully veiled. Therefore, we need to make sure they work for the truth and greater good, not for a particular organization or political agenda.

In conclusion, any form of media is a strong tool to shape public opinion. Thus, it is paramount to maintain the balance between the freedom of media and the broadcasting of equitable news.