Radiologist Informative Essay for English I

radiologic technology - an excellent career

According to American College of Radiology, "Radiologists are medical doctors that specialize in diagnosing and treating injuries and diseases using medical imaging (radiology) procedures (exams/tests) such as X-rays, computed tomography (CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), nuclear medicine, positron emission tomography (PET) and ultrasound." A radiologist's job includes difficult tasks such as spending years of studying and training, balancing heavy workloads with their personal life, and keeping up with advances in medicine and technology; however, there are many positive points in this field like improving and saving lives ("Career: Radiologists"). The different parts of a radiologist's work life include the education they must attain and the kinds of jobs they do.

To begin, an aspiring radiologist must receive an education and degree in their desired occupation. It helps to take certain classes in high school to help prepare for a degree in the medical field. Some beneficial classes are "psychology, to learn about human nature and explore the mind-body connection, plenty of challenging math and science courses, including AP courses in biology, chemistry, physics, and calculus, as well as English composition, speech, and drama classes to enhance communication skills" ("Career: Radiologists"). Other helpful actions to take during the high school years to help prepare would be to volunteer at a clinic, eldercare facility, or hospital. It's also useful to be "a curious, focused communicator who is interested in technology. You must be eager to learn about the machines that will be a part of your everyday environment, but you'll also need excellent people skills" ("Career: Radiologists"). It is also important to have a knowledge of "medicine and dentistry" as well as "verbal skills, critical thinking, and problem-solving, equipment and operation, math and science skills, technology design and control, and leadership." The levels of education people in this career typically achieve are post-doctoral training, bachelor's degree, doctoral degree, first professional degree, associate's degree, and post-secondary degree (Defense, Department of). Although becoming a radiologist may seem too arduous to pursue, the end result is well worth it.

Furthermore, there are undoubtedly many different kinds of radiologists, including diagnostic radiologists, interventional radiologists, and radiation oncologists. A diagnostic radiologists job is to "use a variety of imaging procedures to see inside the body and assess or diagnose the patient's condition" ("What Is a Radiologist?"). This kind of radiologist plays an important role in their patient's health because he acts as an expert consultant for the referring physician. An interventional radiologist is similar to a diagnostic radiologist; however, along with diagnosing the patient, an interventional radiologist also treats the patient with minimally invasive techniques. He guides medical instruments through small-scale incisions, reaching the source of a medical issue and deliver targeted treatments. Lastly, a radiation oncologist a highly trained radiologist who directs and oversees each cancer patient's treatment plan. "They use radiation therapy to treat cancer, and they monitor the patient's progress and adjust treatment to make sure patients receive appropriate quality care" ("What Is a Radiologist?"). Even though all of these jobs are different, they all include the basis of using medical technology and diagnosing patients.

In summary, being a radiologist takes an extensive medical knowledge acquired through years of education and training as well as being able to perform a variety of difficult tasks. They must be patient and ready to gain a degree in their future profession. After they have earned a degree, they can accomplish different jobs focused on dissimilar areas. Even though becoming a radiologist requires an abundance of effort, it is extremely rewarding ("Career: Radiologists").