Railroads vs Road Budget - IETLS CAMBRIDGE 11 TASK 2

Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Railroads and Highway Budgets

Some people believe that it is a pity if governments spend their budget on improving railways instead of roads as travelling by train is not faster and convenient than driving on our own private vehicle. In my judgement, I personally agree that governments should expenditure more money on railways. There are two reasons for my perspective on this.

To commence with, railways offer safe commutation for both traders and inhabitants. The reason explains to this safety is that trains can carry numerous passengers and packages on their own railroad, which trigger it to be more securer than road. Additionally, the annual percentage of death level from driving on the road recorded is always higher than that from train. As the result, the safety factor should to be put on top of people's choice when commuting.

Equally important, rails predispose less damage to environment due to its less consumption in energy. That car, bus, motorbike and many vehicle are the main factor emit a ton of CO2 into the atmosphere annually, which can compares to the inconsiderable amount of train's emission. For instance, the fact that Singapore is one of the most cleanest country owing to its famous train networking called MRT, which encourages that nation's citizens to use less their private vehicles. Consequently, Singapore is free from not only air pollution but also congestion.

In conclusion, railways offers more benefits to us than roads but the government should take how much they will invest money on rails into account. Besides, they also have certain money on road to ameliorate road standard.