IELTS Task 2 - Railways development or Roads development

Topic:

Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Traffic infrastructures are essential parts in the development of countries. It is often argued that governments should invest more money in building railways instead of roads. In my opinion, improving the railroads system will bring a great deal of benefits to the countries because of three main reasons.

Firstly, trains are very efficient mediums of transportation for both goods and people. Trains can pull many carriages that can be used for delivering goods or carrying people. In addition, they run on rail tracks with little or no traffic jams. As a result, the fuel or energy is used efficiently and ultimately led to a reduction in cost for businesses and passengers.

Furthermore, trains can be advantageous to tourism. In some countries, railways can be built through forests or mountains. These rail tracks are hidden gems to the eyes of travelers. Not only do they provide breath-taking scenery but also peaceful moments. For instance, in Vietnam, there is a railroad that goes up to high mountains where passengers can touch the clouds and see the mountains.

Finally, trains can reduce the air pollution and prevent climate changes. It is estimated that cars and personal vehicles are responsible for one-fifth of greenhouse gas emission. Therefore, improving railways infrastructures and systems will encourage people to move over to trains as their main transportation method, thus reducing the CO2 emission.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that building and upgrading railroads are beneficial to the development of nations, because not only do they ensure a better and cleaner environment but also boost the growth of economics and tourism.