IELTS TASK 2: raising the age of retirement. should or shouldn't?

Can you help me to check and improve it by giving academic words replacing informal and low level words? Thanks in advance!

some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the development of the economy and the science, living standards are becoming higher and higher, resulting in longer life expectancy. Some people claim that the age of retirement should be increased. Others; nevertheless, believe that this is unnecessary. I am convinced by the later whereby health condition and adaptive ability of old people.

People who support this idea cite that most of the retired people, especially males, are more stronger than before and they could take over many different kinds of work. This may be true to some extent in developed countries. It is apparent that in a number of developing nations, people are living much longer but not healthy because of the fact that they must work hard before and social welfare is not good enough. Take Vietnam for example, where women often work for about 30 years and retire at 55 years old. It is a reasonable age because after 50 years old, females usually have to face a variety of diseases such as high cholesterol level and calcium deficiency, which affect their health significantly.

Many advocates also put forward that people after finishing paid employment still have ability to perceive new knowledge, hence they should continue working and contributing to the society. However, I disagree with this statement. There is no doubt that at this science age, technology is changing rapidly day by day and it is difficult to adapt to, especially for older people. Internet and mobile phones are prime examples, which develop with a quick pace and prevent old people from using it easily and conveniently. As a result, the old will have many difficulties when working in this environment.

In conclusion, governments should maintain the retirement age and create more opportunities for enjoyment and relaxation for old people instead of working.