Raising a company productivity through promotions - basing on a performance or on the seniority?

Promotions based on seniority or performance

In some organizations, promotions are based on seniority, while in other organizations, promotions are based on performance. Discuss the advantages of each position. Then indicate which position you think is best and why.

In some organizations, promotions are based on seniority and are based on performance. Each of this position has advantages.

The advantages of promotions that based on seniority are the member of organization do not have to show high performance to their employer and there will be no competition to get a promotion. First, the more senior they are, the higher opportunity they get the promotion. The senior only wait for the promotion and they do not have to work hard or show high performance. They even do not think about competition with the junior who have better performance.

On the other hand, promotions based on performance have several advantages. First, there is high organization productivity. This will make the members compete against each other to get the promotion. They will show high performance to the employer. This action motivates the member to be more productive. Therefore, it will give positive effect to the organization productivity. What people do is as good as they get. Those members with better performance are worthy. As a result, they may think that it is fair. Hence, the condition of the organization will be conducive, this is the second advantage.